A password-protected directory is a folder that can't be accessed unless the correct login credentials are provided. This could be an entire website or only one page which is located within a subfolder. If you try to open this type of a directory, you'll see a web browser pop-up where you must type in a username and also a password. In case you type the right ones, you will be able to continue exploring the content without the need to do anything additional. In case the login credentials are not right, however, you will see a note that you are not allowed to view the content. If this function is activated, you won't be able to open a file even though you may have a direct link. The feature is very practical if you need to prohibit the access to some content or if you work on a website and you don't want visitors to be able to access it before it's ready.

Password Protected Directories in Hosting

Setting up a password-protected area will take merely a couple of mouse clicks and a few seconds if you host your sites in a hosting account with our company. You shall not need to do anything challenging - you will have to choose a domain/subdomain, to choose which folder under it has to be protected, and then to type the login name and password which will be used to access that folder. If a number of individuals need their own login details, there will not be a problem to make a variety of different usernames with access to the same folder. All protected folders shall appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this option is activated. If you would like to turn off the security feature for any folder, you can disable it from the same exact section of the CP in which you have enabled it.